The Warner T Hamm House
520 River Street
This house was built on a lot conveyed in 1912 from Herbert Wilson, part owner of Wilson Cypress Company and later president and treasurer of Selden Cypress Door Company, to Warner T. Hamm, manager of Atlantic Grocery Company and secretary-treasurer of H. O. Hamm Properties, a real estate firm.
During the 1930s the building was the residence of Coveda E. Currie, president of the Currie Grocery Company, and during the 1940s it was owned and occupied by Arthur M. Coll, the proprietor of Colls Bar and Lounge.
Sometime during the fifties, the house was purchased by Joseph Gibbon, owner of Gibbon Plumbing Company. Its present occupant is Phillip T. Leary and his wife, Pauline.
Built between 1912 and 1915, the home reveals characteristics of Colonial Revival style in its picturesque massing and hip roof with dormer. Bungalow influences can be found in the massive brick columns and exposed chimney of this square-planned house. This large home occupies a corner location overlooking the St. Johns River, contributing to a well-defined residential district
If you have any additional information on this home, please
Last updated 03/27/02
All Rights Reserved